혼동CONFUSION

 

 

 

“Fasten your seatbelt.”

“Yes, mom.”

“Ya~~ don’t call me that. I feel old.”

Taeyeon chuckled as Miyeon-unnie whined. Director can be funny if she wanted to although she rarely showed it. Instead, she spoke in such a coy manner that it’s hard to figure what she was trying to say exactly.

She unlocked her phone after waiting for the traffic to turn green. The woman besides her seemed to be into the song that was playing on the radio as her fingers played along the wheel.

She decided to check her Instagram to see what her friends were updating. She grinned as she saw the photo of Yuri doing a yoga pose on the water with her tongue out. She’s surely having her time in her life. Hyoyeon took a selfie of herself along with some foreigners as she’s continuing her backpack trip in Europe.

Sunny posted the view of the sunset and her feet with a cocktail glass by her side. She’s happy that her friends were having a great time. Although she was jealous, she couldn’t deny she’s gaining a lot of new knowledge and experiences from her part-time job at the museum.

Another post updated and she scrolled down to check. Tiffany was tagged in a photo. An account she’s not familiar with tagged her, Sooyoung and Sooyoung’s boyfriend.

#TGIF#Lucky#HottestGirlHottestNight

The guy was raising his glass while his arm was over Tiffany’s shoulders and the latter seemed to be leaning towards him as she showed her signature smile as her cocktail glass touching her lips. Sooyoung and her boyfriend posed their usual couple pose while sitting across the duo.

It’s currently 11.40 pm. They must still be at the bar.

She would always see the similar smile on the photos Tiffany was either tagged or posted. Although she could feel Tiffany smile more genuinely whenever they hanged out, the smile would turn a bit flirty and seductive when a guy approached her and asked her number.

Tiffany was flirtatious, that much she knew. It’s “a meaningless little fun’ that she enjoyed according to Tiffany herself.

But why was she bothered? She had seen the similar photos, a few even in bikinis and yet, she couldn’t stop the stuffy feeling in her chest.

Is it because this is actually happening at the present?

“You’re very quiet.”

“Am I? “ Taeyeon turned to the woman besides her.

“You are.” Miyeon responded in a “You know yourself” tone.

“Well, your car is nice and it’s fun riding in the front seat.”

“Love problems?”

“…”

“It is, isn’t it? I saw you checking your Instagram.”

“You and I don’t know each other that well to talk about this, unnie.” Taeyeon didn’t want to have another troublesome conversation she wants to avoid.

“You’re blunt, I like it. It’s fresh.”

“…”

“Kids these days…it makes me miss my student life, having no worries about the future and making something out of nothing important.” Miyeon said, nostalgia feeling evident in her tone, “We adults cannot entertain such love dramas. So enjoy it before you enter the work force.”

“I prefer no drama at all.” replied Taeyeon. She didn’t even know how to sort out her own feelings. Why would she entertain another problematic stuff to her head?

“Yet, you are having one.”

“…”

“Let’s play twenty questions then.” Miyeon turned to Taeyeon when the traffic lights turned red,“I ask you one and you can ask me back one.”

Taeyeon looked back at her, “What if I don’t want to answer the questions you ask?”

“You can drink.”

“Drink?”

“Yeah, how about we hang out at the bar? Do you have any plans or you want to go home to rest?” Miyeon asked as she looked at the time on her wristwatch.

“…” Taeyeon didn’t answer.

“It’s up to you. We won’t go if you don’t want to.” Miyeon said after she noticed her silence. She didn’t want to disturb her further.

“Let’s go to the bar.” Taeyeon responded with finality.

 

 

 

 

 

Tiffany rubbed her hands together to keep herself warm as she waited for the security guard who went to ring Taeyeon’s apartment. The girl hadn’t responded to her texts and calls last night. She herself was tired from drinking last night so she decided to sleep in.

But Taeyeon’s phone was switched off the next morning. So here she was, waiting at the latter’s apartment to have breakfast with her. If one thing she hadn’t done with Taeyeon, it would be breakfast. The latter wasn’t a morning person.

Suddenly, a Porsche drove into the open parking lot halting Tiffany’s thoughts. The car did have Tiffany’s attention. It was a rare sight for a Porsche 911 Coupe to enter this neighborhood.

But she got more surprised when Taeyeon appeared when the car door opened.

“Thank you, I had a great time last night.” Taeyeon said gratefully as she stood in front of Miyeon-unnie. She did have a great time. The fun game they had at the bar managed to distract from her thoughts about a certain Instagram post. And the alcohol made her fall asleep once she lied down on the bed in the guest room of Miyeon-uunie’s apartment.

“I had a great time too. It’s been a while I had such honest conversation with a stranger.”

“Oh, Am I a stranger?” Taeyeon teased.

“You know what I mean.”

Taeyeon just smiled.

“Sunny will come back next week so you won’t feel lonely anymore.”

“I know. Take care, Unnie. And rest well. Today is holiday.”

“I will. You too.”

 

 

Taeyeon was waving at the departing car until the familiar loud coice startled her.

“Where were you?!”

“Tiffany?” She looked at the time. It was pretty early for a pretty girl to be having that pissed off look on her face.

What did I do wrong again?

“Your phone was off! I was worried sick!” Tiffany’s loud husky voice was definitely going to wake up the whole residence.

Taeyeon just remembered she had a phone. She took it out from her bag and saw the black screen, “The battery’s gone and I didn’t have a power bank. Sorry.”

“Did you even come home last night?” Tiffany asked, although she already knew the answer.

“Ummm…What are you doing here?”

“I didn’t get to hang out with you yesterday so I decided to surprise you by having a breakfast together.”

“Weren’t you at the XXX bar yesterday?” Taeyeon asked.

“Wh-how do you know?”

“Instagram.”

“….”

“I saw quite a lot of glasses so I thought you would be having a hangover by now.”

“I have a high alcohol tolerance.”

“I can see that.”

“So, breakfast?” Tiffany asked again.

“I-I already had breakfast with Miyeon Unnie just now.”

“Which reminds me my question, you didn’t come back home did you?”

Taeyeon decided to come clean. She could rather be sarcastically honest or be simply honest. She chose the latter, “I didn’t. We decided to go to a bar last night after we finished work. It was already late so I decided to sleep at her apartment for the night.”

“I see.” Tiffany tried her best not to show her disappointment. It took two full months for Taeyeon to be comfortable with her and she still hadn’t opened up to her. And the latter just had a sleepover at her house only after a week and a half working under her. Where did she go wrong?

“Hey, I’m sorry I cancelled our dinner. We were really busy last night. Maybe we can have lunch together today, hmmm?” Taeyeon said, feeling apologetic. The latter waited nearly an hour for her.  

“Yet, you went to the bar with her last night.” Tiffany’s tone wasn’t a happy one.

“Well, you also went to the bar last night. You got yourself a date, didn’t you?” Taeyeon teased, faking a smile.

To think I have rejected him for you “You want me to date him?”

“What?”

“You heard me.”

“It’s up to you.”

Tiffany huffed as she turned around to leave the girl.

Wait. Where are you going?”

“Home. To prepare for a date.”

“Oh” Taeyeon’s hand loosened.

“You had breakfast already and I haven’t. So I’m going to call him to have a breakfast date with me.”

“Okay then. Good Luck.”

Tiffany wanted to scream her frustration at Taeyeon. She expected the latter to make amends for making her wait at her doorsteps during the chilly weather. Then again, it was her choice.

But, she was never the one to control her temper fully. She turned around and uttered the words she had been wanting to say.

“You.Are.Insufferable!”

“Me?Insufferable? Ha, you’re the one to talk.” Taeyeon responded sarcastically.

“Excuse me?!”

“What do you want from me, Tiffany?”

Tiffany tried not to choke her breath, frustration building up. Taeyeon’s question hit her. What did she want from Taeyeon? She didn’t know.  She also didn’t want to answer.

“What is it?” Taeyeon asked again.

“Breakfast!” An answer was better than no answer. “I wanted to have breakfast with you!”

“I didn’t know you would wait for me!”

“It was meant to be a surprise.”

“Well, I’m surprised you showed up. How about you have breakfast and I will watch you.”

“…” This wasn’t what she wanted. Tiffany turned around.

“No need, I have lost my appetite.”

Taeyeon didn’t follow her.

 

 

_______

 

“You guys only started hanging out a few months ago and you already had a second cold war ?”

“Tell me something I don’t know.” Taeyeon replied sarcastically.

Sunny played around with her chair. The latter had come back from her trip and decided to visit her apartment the next day.“Normallly, you would give up befriending someone if you can’t get along. Why though?”

“Did you come to my house to interrogate me or see me cos’ you miss me?”

“Both.” Sunny smirked playfully.

“I’m not gonna entertain you, Soonkyu. Leave me alone.”

“So, have you found out what you were searching for?”, Sunny leaned in, trying to gauge her reaction.

“What?” Taeyeon asked flatly.

“You said you needed to confirm something.”

“…”

“It was about her, isn’t it?”

“It’s not.”

“Liar.”

“None of your business, Soonkyu.” Taeyeon glowered. She made sure she glared at the latter so that she would stop asking.

Sunny wasn’t even fazed about her glare. But she spoke delicately, “You don’t have to deal with it yourself, Taengoo. I’m your best friend. You can talk about it.”

“…”

“I’m not gonna judge you, I have said that before. Besides, love doesn’t have boundaries. Love is love.”

Taeyeon snorted, “Love is a strong word.”

“So you like her?”

Taeyeon exhaled. It’s no use beating around the bush with Sunny. She decided to come clean. “To be honest, I’m not sure what I feel. I’m interested in her, that’s for sure. If she was truly just a friend to me, I should be feeling the same thing I feel with all of you.”

Taeyeon exhaled, her heart feeling lighter as she explained, “As much as I want to deny, it’s not. But I do not know how to define it though. Is it because she’s very different from me?”

Whenever she thought about Tiffany, her throat constricted, “I tried to be careful around her, you know? But I let loose as soon as I see her. I couldn’t even control how I behave. “

“So, do I like her? I don’t know. I shouldn’t be scared of her if I like her.” It was difficult explaining about what she felt. She wasn’t that open about herself to discuss about her feelings to begin with. Her heart fluttered when Tiffany’s near her. But beyond that, it was confusing.

“You’re scared of her?” Sunny asked, thoughtfully.

“Yeah.”

“Why?”

“Scared of what she can do to me.”

 

_____

 

I’m sorry

Taeyeon looked at the screen for a good few seconds, absorbing the two words that carried a lot of weight.

They hadn’t texted for days. They both knew the last argument they had was weird, arguing like lovers over a failed surprise. Both had a lot to say but didn’t actually say anything.

She felt suffocated.

It’s alright. I’m sorry, too.

Dinner?

Taeyeon looked at the clock. Sunny had started working at the museum although it was more like annoying her aunt with aegyo. She could actually leave work on time as the museum was also quiet.

Dinner sounds great. When and where?

The usual place at COEX?

Japanese? I thought you were on a diet.

😡

Taeyeon chuckled at the angry emoji.

Arasso. I was just teasing. I will be there around 7-ish.

Great! I will get us a table in advance. See ya.

Tiffany?” Sunny asked, after seeing her best friend’s smiling face. She was bored and she needed some entertainment.

“What?” Taeyeon asked, acting oblivious.

Sunny rolled her eyes at her friend’s act. She pointed at her phone.“It was Tiffany, wasn’t it?”

Taeyeon nodded,“She texted me to have dinner together. Wanna come?”

“No thanks. I don’t want to piss her off.”

“What?! She’s also your friend!” Taeyeon asked, flabbergasted. Where does that come from?!

“Just how can you be that dumb, Taengoo? You guys haven’t spoken to each other for days and she reached out to you. And you bringing me to the dinner will only make matter worse.” Sunny replied, knowingly.“Tiffany has a lot of pride more than you think. She reached out to you first. Be considerate.”

“…”

“You can even confess her tonight, who knows?”

“Excuse me?!”

“You like her. She likes you.”

“She does not!” Taeyeon vehemently denied. That was the most ridiculous statement of the century, pun intended.

“You both are stubborn drama queens.” Sunny deadpanned.

“You blabbering short stuff, get back to work.”

“Like you’re any taller than me.”

“I’m still taller than you.”

“Tiffany’s taller than you. Make sure you wear insoles if you decide to make a move or it will be a turn off.” Sunny finally ran away from her desk.

“YAH!!!!!”

 

 

 

-tbc-

Author: MotoFoko

A wanderer. Soul searching. Writing calms my mind.

5 thoughts on “혼동CONFUSION”

  1. You got me all smiling reading this authornim.. I really like your story.. it’s like you’ve been write for so long.. I feel like reading donkatsu and great author taeny.. you are jjang!😄😄😄

    Like

  2. Last part made me LOL …
    Btw when Tae asked “what do you want from me?” Its remind me when Tae sang the song on Fany IGlive
    *my taeny feel*

    Like

Leave a Reply

